Home > Cargo Ship Journey > Machines and locks!

Machines and locks!

I never realised how huge some of the machinery in ports can be! In our ship, there are a dozen CATs (not the fluffy kind) being transported to somewhere along the way. Now, I know I am not tall but standing straight my head comes up to the hub cap of one of these beasts! 

All day and evening yesterday we stayed in the boat on our journey from Tilbury to Antwerp. We were due to arrive in Antwerp and dock by 1700. Because of the thick fog, we only docked by about 2100. By that time, we decided it was a little too late to venture out into the city given that the port is a little way away – it is the second largest port in Europe after Rotterdam!

After dinner, I went for a little reading and a little snooze after looking out of my porthole and seeing nothing because of the thick fog we were in. Last I saw anything out of the ship – we were in the middle of the sea. When I woke up, I looked out of the window and immediately knew I must be dreaming for I could see trees right outside and road running at the bottom of the ship (I am on the 12th deck). I rubbed my eyes and looked over to where Craig was snoozing, and went to woke him up. We both looked out, and realised we must be in the lock. The ship was less than a metre away from the lock embankment. It was so surreal to be on such a big ocean liner and find yourself as though on a narrow country lane! I am constantly amazed at how these massive cargo ships are manouvered into such narrow waterways!

The wheel is as big as me!

A big monster of a machine

Miscellaneous machines on the lower deck

The 'Smiler' with his pick-up

  1. Rob G
    November 18, 2010 at 16:13

    Sounds like a nice easy start to the adventure.

    • November 18, 2010 at 16:38

      Very easy! Now to the Bay of Biscay!

  2. Lisa T
    November 19, 2010 at 22:31

    hey – all sounds lovely and relaxing… hope you are enjoying your voyage xx

  3. Emily James
    November 25, 2010 at 11:07

    Just a quickie to say that I never got to say goodbye! Sounds like you’re having a ball (not the dancing type) onboard ship and may an engineering career be a new option? Keep us posted and avoid those pirates…Buen viaje! (just to confuse you) Emily

    • December 25, 2010 at 10:41

      Hello Emily – just looking through my posts and I don’t think I replied to you. Hope you are having a brilliant Christmas babe! x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

