Home > Buenos Aires, Food > Seafood in the ocean of meat!

Seafood in the ocean of meat!

I miss fish and seafood. Though  the sea is only a furlong away, Buenos Aires never tires of beef! Our friend Alena invited me to a strictly girl’s afternoon of lunch, shoe shopping and wine drinking. How could I refuse. So four girls met at a Peruvian restaurant called Chan Chan in the microcentro.

I arrived early and had a chance to read through the menu and was pleasantly surprised to find it brimming with fish and seafood choices. I wanted to try several things so when all arrived we chose different things on the menu to try as many dishes as possible. Alena ordered some ceviche to start which was lovely and fresh with oodles of sliced red onion.

I ordered Mariscos Piccante which is a seafood stew with rice with a hint of chilli. Camilla ordered a fish stew which was creamy and bright orange and was also accompanied by a bowl of rice. But my favourite was the deep fried langosutines with a chilli sauce which the waiter initially got wrong and gave to me (but was Alena’s order) so I tucked into it happily. I had to give it back 5 minutes later but I was glad I had tasted the gorgeous morsels of fresh langoustines in the lightest batter with the chilli mayonnaise!

We washed our food down with some vino blanco which came in a cute little bottle and served in beautiful little cut glass copas.

The afternoon we spent shoe shopping in two distinctively different stores – more about it in another post to come!

Chan Chan – Hipólito Yrigoyen 1390, Buenos Aires

  1. March 8, 2011 at 18:13

    I miss it too. Salmon and trucha are about the only things I eat .. we don’t eat red meat so the lack of seafood is annoying sometimes. I have made note of Chan Chan .

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

