Home > Peru > A stranger in my bedroom!

A stranger in my bedroom!

For reasons I won’t go into here, yesterday we unexpectedly found ourselves in a dorm room of a hostel called Red Psycho Llama in the tourist trap they call Miraflores a few kilometres from Lima’s centre. I can count on the fingers of one hand the number of nights I have spent in any hostel and on fewer digits the number of times I have shared a bedroom with a stranger (hold all jokes right there please!).

Arriving after midnight, hastily being shown into an empty dorm, we quickly unpacked and climbed up and down onto our bunks. A couple of hours of deep sleep later I suddenly awoke to find the room brightly lit with a young man standing at the door. In normal circumstances I would have jumped out of my skin but I was in a slumbering daze and decided it was a dream. Then I heard the whirring of the generator outside the only window in the dorm which looks onto a plastered wall two feet away and knew I was awake. The man, in his leisurely way, crossed the room and got into the bed next to me!

Tomorrow we move into a private room.

Categories: Peru Tags: , , , ,
  1. toogreytogrind
    March 29, 2011 at 13:20

    Now you are travelling. Love the story.

    If only the Israele girls in Salta had done that with me.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

